ScreenBureau

Documenting the journey of a Cameroonian filmmaker

I go tok!! New Biya Regime ‘scams’ emerge as Elections loom ahead.

With the Cameroon November 2011 presidential elections ‘looming’ ahead and I chose that word carefully, typical unabashed headlines are beginning to make their way into Cameroonian media. Headlines like “PAUL BIYA TO TAR DSCHANG-FONTEM-BAKEBE ROAD” or “PAUL BIYA VA BITUMER LA ROUTE BAFANG-NKONDJOCK-YABASSI” and so on.

Before I continue, I will define the word LOOM, the Oxford Dictionary describes it as;

‘a looming  appearance, as of something seen indistinctly at a distance or through a fog: the loom of a moraine directly in their path.’

We are barely some two months away from the elections and we are still to hear of the actual election date. This is typical of the Cameroonian government or shall I say the Biya Regime. Paul Biya has been president for 29 years and counting and still cannot manage an election season? I’m not even going to waste my time trying to compare our election process with the West.

I can’t even say I blame just the Biya regime because apart from Kah Walla who has toured the globe trying to sensitize Cameroonians on her presidential bid, I do not even know who the other presidential candidates are. Where dem dey? Who dem dey? Anyways that’s a rant for another day.

Back to Biya’s scams and I dare anyone to say otherwise. I come from a region in the South Western Part of Cameroon called Fontem. A town surrounded by beautiful hills with one of the best weather conditions you would find in Africa. Fontem can be accessed through either Dschang in the West or Bakebe in the South West. The picture below gives you an example of the roads leading to Fontem from both Dschang and Bakebe;

Every election year, we read headlines like the ones stated earlier, giving us false hopes that our roads would be tarred. After the elections, we are left with our ‘roads.’ I mean there is a saying ‘Fool me once, fool you, fool me twice, fool me!” And we have been fooled once too many.

Who does this regime take us for? What irks me the most is the fact that our very own élite continue to play the same game with us. The so-called élite who are supposed to protect us are only concerned with saving their skin or keeping their jobs. How they sleep at night baffles me. Is there no honor left among men? What legacies are they leaving behind?

Paul Biya and your cronies, if you ever read this, please keep your ‘tar’ and let us be. We will someday raise the required billions of CFA needed to tar our own roads. And to our élite, please shut the f**k up! If you cannot protect and develop your own backyard, don’t expect me to have any respect for you! Enough is Enough!

WHAT’S YOUR TAKE?

 

4 comments on “I go tok!! New Biya Regime ‘scams’ emerge as Elections loom ahead.

  1. Asonganyi Scot
    August 16, 2011

    Tick tick tick the clock is ticking….

  2. Pingback: Paul Biya: “I will not run for re-election in October 2011” « Lebs295's Blog

  3. Ayité
    September 21, 2011

    You are being fooled by your own elites. Do you think it is the role of President Paul Biya to come and supervise the construction of roads in your village? Blame your elites. There are several areas in the country where money has been given out to build roads but has ended in accounts of some elites, but documents show these roads have been tarred. Blame your own brothers for killing you.

    • prgoretti
      October 11, 2011

      Ha! How can you refer to us as ‘YOU’ and ‘US.’ Paul Biya has truly succeeded in his ‘Divide and Rule’ strategy by making us (Cameroonians) hate each other. So sad! Still thanks for stopping by. My blog has moved to http://www.prgoretti.com. Go there for more recent updates.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2011 by in A lil bit of Politics, Our very own stars and tagged , .
