ScreenBureau

Documenting the journey of a Cameroonian filmmaker

My ‘Holy Mary Dilemma’

August 15th is the day the Roman Catholic Church sets aside to honor universally the mother of our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ. Now there are several criticisms against this practice especially given that no where in the Bible is it written that our saviour’s beloved mother ascended into heaven (body and soul).

As a child raised in the Catholic faith, I readily accepted this and loved to sing my Hail Mary honor songs (which have such beautiful melodies) and give honor to the mother of my saviour. However within the last 5 years, my faith in the Catholic doctrines was greatly shaken which saw me leave the church and worship at a few pentecostal churches which I believed at the time answered my questions.

A couple of years ago, I returned to the Catholic faith because after careful examination of my spiritual journey, I realised that the Roman Catholic faith was closest to what my soul needed. Still I couldn’t bring myself to pray to our lady or any of the saints. I decided to shut my ears to the outside world and search within my soul believing deeply that the Holy spirit has given me the spirit of discernment and I should listen to it. This led to a series of personal revelations that have brought me back to understanding what ASSUMPTION and INTERCESSION mean.

As Catholics, we believe that JESUS is THE WAY, THE TRUTH and THE LIGHT and no one goes to the Father except through Him. But in the same way our Lady interceded at the Wedding of Cana and the same way Jesus surrounded himself with his disciples, through whom we could speak to him, so too do we believe that we can speak to the spirits of the saints and our Lord’s disciples and especially his Beloved mother to get through to Jesus.

I’m not asking any non-Catholics to judge us, I’m asking you to join me today as I celebrate the feast of the Woman who was chosen among all other women to bear my beloved Lord and Saviour, JESUS CHRIST.

HAPPY FEAST OF THE ASSUMPTION!

WHAT’S YOUR TAKE?

6 comments on “My ‘Holy Mary Dilemma’

  1. Bernice
    August 15, 2011

    Amen! Happy Feast of Assumption darling 🙂

  2. Rosemary
    August 15, 2011

    Happy Big Day Maria A,well written!!!

  3. Dorothy Mensah-Aggrey
    August 15, 2011

    Hello My Dear Friend,
    I read with interest your dilemma and you are fortunate that your doubts led you back to the faith in which you were raised. Think of this: Your parents gave you the best of education(worldly) how much more things of the faith, eternal life? In John’s Gospel, it ends by saying if all the things that Christ did were recorded, all the books in the world will not suffice. Better still, the womb that bore Christ had to be pure so if Elijah was assumed into heaven, how much more the mother of Christ? One more, in Luke’s gospel, Mary says, “My soul magnifies the Lord… ” What does a magnifying glass do? Now, notice she said her soul … it is our soul which communes with God. We Catholics are blessed to have the Mother of Our Lord as our Mother too. Catholics believe in Sacred Scripture and Sacred Tradition and the feast of Assumption is one such tradition. You are truly blessed my sister. Praised be the Name of the Lord! Thanks for sharing your story, God is using you to touch others.

  4. nkeng
    August 15, 2011

    I look at our lady as the shortest way to Jesus. We honour and respect her, because she’s the moher of our Lord! A friend of mine explained our relationship to our lady this way:

    Quote:
    ” If you truelly love a guy who loves his mum, you’ll want to do everything to please him and make him happy. You cann’t say to him, i love you so much but i cann’t stand your mum.
    So, you cann’t say to the Lord Jesus, Lord, i love you so much, i’ll do eveything for you, but your mum……i cann’t stand her! ”

    Unquote:

    Happy big day Maria my dear!

  5. Yvonne Chindia Yvonne
    August 15, 2011

    beautifully written and I can relate. Happy big day Maria.

  6. Maumau
    August 16, 2011

    My sis,your post brought me goose-bumps and tears.That is so well written.I have gone around too trying to see if there was/is a church better than the catholic,but none ever gave me the inner peace with Jesus which I have with the catholic church. So many forget about the importance of Mary as Christ’s mother. Christ himself gave His mother to be ours under the cross when He gave her to st John.Ma sister,what about the miracles at Fatima,Lourdes,Medjugorje,etc? I love me some mother Mary.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 15, 2011 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .
