ScreenBureau

Documenting the journey of a Cameroonian filmmaker

Camer News!! our illustrious Prof Victor Anomah Ngu R.I.P

Reports hitting the web this morning announce the sad passing away of our very own Professor Victor Anomah Ngu. Prof was born in 1926 and is a proud Soban. After medical studies in both Cameroon and Nigerian, he went on to specialize in his craft at St Mary’s Hospital Medical School, University of London.

Unlike most Cameroonians in the diaspora today, Prof Anomah saw the need to return and serve his country with his talents and newly acquired skills. A true Patriot!

Before his death, Prof was director of the Cancer Research Laboratory at UniYao, was founder of Hope Clinic Cameroon. He holds countless awards to his name with the most recent being the Leon H. Sullivan Award, USA (2003).

Locally he is known as the HIV and cancer doctor. What a loss!

For more on prof, click here.

Alternatively just google his name.

MY TAKE

What a sad loss to Cameroon and the world at large. RIP prof.

WHAT’S YOUR TAKE?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 comments on “Camer News!! our illustrious Prof Victor Anomah Ngu R.I.P

  1. Bernice Lakota
    June 15, 2011

    R.I.P

  2. Lebong
    June 15, 2011

    it’s our loss and a very big one. He was among the pioneer batch of Sasse in 1939.

  3. Armstrong Chebe
    June 16, 2011

    So sad for the world atlarge and Cameroon in Particular.Like a friend once said to me,”the graveyard is the richest place in the world.It hosts so much unmaterialised dreams and goals”.RIP prof

  4. Adeline
    June 18, 2011

    Truely a great loss. R.I.P Prof.

  5. UMARU SARIKI
    June 25, 2011

    I MEET PROF ONE TIME WHEN I WAS SICK IN Y’DE AT THE LAB.IN PASTEUR TO DO MY URINE ANALYSIS FOR KIDNEY STONES WHEN HE WAS MINISTER OF HEALTH. HE CAME TO ONE OF HIS LABS THERE. I SAT BY THE DOOR AND WHEN I WAS HIM I GREETED HIM AND HE GREETED BACK. HE SPENT LIKE THREE HOURS IN THE LAB AND CAME OUT. I WAS SITTING THERE WITH URINE I BROUGHT ALL THE WAY FROM BAMENDA. HE ASKED ME WHAT I WAS STILL DOING HERE WITH URINE SPECIMEN FOR THIS LENGTH OF TIME. I TOLD HE I WAS ASKED TO WAIT. HE WENT BACK TO THE LAB AND ASKED THE WORKERS WHO AMONG THEM ASKED ME TO WAIT? NONE OF THEM COULD IDENTIFY HIS/HER SELF. HE CAME BACK TO ME AND ASKED ME IF KNEW THE PERSON WHO ASKED ME TO WAIT? I TOLD HIM IF I SAW HER I WILL KNOW. HE THEN TOOK ME INSIDE THE LAB AND I SHOWED HIM THE LADY. HE ASKED HER IF THAT WAS TRUE AND SHE SAID YES. HE ASKED HER WHY SHE DID NOT IDENTIFY HER SELF WHE HE ASKED ? SHE SAID SHE WAS SCARED AND HE ONLY TOLD HER TO DO THE TEST AND BRING IT TO HIS OFFICE IN THE AFTERNOON AND HE ASKED ME TO GO AND COME TO HIS OFFICE IN THE AFTERNOON.HE WAS NOT THE ONE WHO ORDERED FOR THE TEST. HE DID NOT EVEN KNOW ME. I NOW WENT TO HIS OFFICE IN THE AFTERNOON AND MET THE LADY CRYING AND SHE WAS BEGGING ME TO BEG PROF FOR HER.WHEN PROF CAME IN WE ALL WERE SITTING IN THE WAITING ROOM.HE IMMEDIATELY CALLED BOTH OF US AND THE LADY WAS CRYING. HE ASKED HER WHY SHE WAS CRYING? SHE SAID SHE KNEW SHE HAS LOST HER JOB.HE LOOKED AT ME AND I TOLD HIM TO WARN HER AND LET HER GO. HE TOLD IF SHE HEARD WHAT I SAID. SHE SAID YES. HE FINALLY TOLD HER TO GO AND DO HER JOB. HE THEN ASKED ME TO GO AND SEE THE DOCTOR WHO ODERED FOR THE TEST. HE WAS A GREAT MAN AND THE WORLD HAS LOST AN ICON OF MEDICINE. MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE.

    UMARU SARIKI

  6. Metu'muabe Ndone
    July 15, 2011

    I believe his spirit will continue to guide young aspiring cameroonians
    may his soul rest in perfect peace

  7. Michael Kpughe Lang
    October 15, 2011

    Michael Lang
    October 15, 2011 at 9 am
    The late Professor’s academic achievements will undeniably stream many generations to come. His works therefore have the potential of immortalising him. May his soul have peace.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2011 by in Our very own stars and tagged , , .
