ScreenBureau

Documenting the journey of a Cameroonian filmmaker

Na wa oh! This “I shall shine” phenomenon is more deep-rooted than I thought.


MY TAKE

Really sad! I knew it had everything to do with colonialism. This phenomenon even had its effect on me as a teenager… I heard rumours of girls injecting poisonous substances regardless of the dire consequences to their health just because they wanted to ‘shine’. I shall shine at all cost! Really sad!

WHAT’S YOUR TAKE?

6 comments on “Na wa oh! This “I shall shine” phenomenon is more deep-rooted than I thought.

  1. Bernice Lakota
    June 14, 2011

    THIS IS TOO SAD AND DISTURBING. BEAUTY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH SKIN COLOR, WEH NA WA OH!!!!! THAT BLACK MAN SAYING THOSE THINGS ABOUT BLACK WOMEN IS SO STUPID. I THINK GOD HIMSELF CRIES OVER THIS. I LOVE MY NATURAL HAIR, BEEN WEARING IT THAT WAY FOR MORE THAN 6 YEARS AND I WILL NEVER EVER PUT CHEMICALS IN MY HAIR AGAIN. Thank you for sharing this, Anu!

  2. Adeline
    June 14, 2011

    OMG this video is so true. I had a lot of trouble growing up as a dark skinned girl. Many of ma peers made me feel i was dark and ugly. I believed it. Some gave me horrible nicknames representing my skin color. I hated it and hated myself. As i grew older i started to realise how beautiful and true African i really am. I love myself and love being dark skinned. I would give nothing to change that. Black is Beauty.

    • prgoretti
      June 14, 2011

      I must admit Adeline that in one way or other we are all guilty of making fun of the darker skin sister or brother. What I am interested honestly is understanding where this ‘hate or discomfort’ came from. I still blame it on colonialism though. What do you think?

  3. Karyne
    June 14, 2011

    Yes Anu, it definitely comes from colonialism and slave trade… We as a race need to look further than our skin to find out how we feel about our identity. We still will not get enough shine on the outside (No matter how much bleach we use),if we don’t seek to shine from inside. By this I mean that we should look at celebrating our culture and heritage in order to promote self esteem and a sense of belonging.

    • prgoretti
      June 14, 2011

      True talk mama. Hey, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 14, 2011 by in Uncategorized and tagged .
