ScreenBureau

Documenting the journey of a Cameroonian filmmaker

Nkemchap George Folefa

It was a beautiful Sunday morning, the sun was shining through the bitter winter winds as if to brighten my day. I woke up from a fitful slumber with an urgent need to talk to my ‘papa.’ 7:30 a.m no store opened. 2 hours later I called ‘mami’ and she reassured me that papa was feeling much better and resting. I asked ‘mam’i to call me as soon as he woke up so I could talk to him. See, I had not spoken to papa in 3 days because he was always resting. So I went on with my day’s activities but with a nagging feeling of dread. So I entrusted my fears unto the Lord. 1 hour later my phone rang and my sister asked to speak to my husband, I thought that was strange given that she barely said two words to me. Still I trusted the Lord. Another hour passed and we got back home and I quickly got on with the chores of a housewife. Some minutes later, my husband called me into our bedroom. As I walked in,  he left and came back with my brother-in-law.  Immediately I saw them, the hairs on the back of my neck stood up and the feeling of dread was overwhelming. “is my father dead?,” I immediately asked. My husband nodded and said “i’m sorry babe,” I went numb! My world shatterred into a million pieces… I was fatherless.

 

Beloved papa, Nkemchap George Folefa

 

If you knew my papa, you would love him too.

My papa loved the Lord with all his heart and served him faithfully to the end.

My papa took the time to get to know me as his child and to tell me his life stories.

my papa never ended a conversation without saying “God bless you ma pikin.”

My papa is the only man I know who was proud to call me his grandmother

My papa will selflessly go hungry so that I could eat.

My papa is the most noble man i have ever known.

My papa he loved the little children, he talked to flowers, he laughed like a child.

My papa’s smile is the most beautiful smile to behold.

Oh God I miss my papa. I miss him every single day and I have never felt pain like this.

Sunday JAN 28th 2007, I remember so well.

Rest in peace Nkemchap George Folefa,beloved husband of Florence Ekokobe Folefa and beloved ‘papa’ of Elisabeth Ngwa, Rosemary Folefa, Rita Folefa, Goretti Folefa, Kisito Folefa and Hilary Folefa. You taught us well!

12 comments on “Nkemchap George Folefa

  1. Bernice Lakota
    January 28, 2011

    This brought tears to my eyes, what a Papa you had/have, you are blessed and I would have loved to know him! They say time heals all wounds but I don’t think they know what they’re talking about, it just dulls the pain for a while, some days the pain comes back as if the band-aid fell off and it hurts anew. Take care my love xoxoxo

  2. abanga marie angele
    January 28, 2011

    darling i’d hardly heard of your dad i’m so sorry for it all

  3. Rosemary
    January 28, 2011

    Love the writings,but howmuch can we write,i pray the good lord will give the strength to be strong,and we will all atrive in our own little way to be like Papa,tears ran down my eyes(at work) after reading this,but guys what like that white woman told me(who didnot even know Papa) he is with God,because he fought so hard to be there,i am so proud of Papa,i can!t wait for the day he will recieve me(no forget say na e go recieve all we,when we own time come)

  4. constance ajah-ayang
    January 28, 2011

    Hi Anu,
    Accept my belated condolence for ur loss. Well written brought tears to my eyes and i did not know PAPA, i can only imagine, the loss of a loved one as dear as a parent,no worry he is with the lord. For those of who still have our parents, we need to cherish every phone call or moment we share. thnsx for sharing. God bless u.

    • prgoretti
      January 28, 2011

      Thank you Constance. God bless you too.

  5. Alfred Ade-Ijimakinwa
    January 28, 2011

    Hmmm. My condolence. Death is inevitable. It crawls in when we least expect it and still that which we value so dearly.

  6. florence
    January 28, 2011

    May Papa Soul continue to rest in Peace.

  7. nkeng
    April 9, 2011

    Beautiful rite up! So beautiful…. Thank U!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2011 by in Our very own stars, Uncategorized and tagged .
