ScreenBureau

Documenting the journey of a Cameroonian filmmaker

Chimamanda Adichie. The Danger of a Single Story

Hope you are having a good weekend my dear prgoretti family. For this weekend, we shall do something different… No fun music to dance to because I have received some emails that I really must share with you. Let’s start with the startling beauty below:

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – novelist, poet and recently mentor.

Chimamanda is a Nigerian Novelist whose career I follow closely, and she continues to move me emotionally with her humility and very easy style of communication.  I am not here to advertise her literacy credits and accomplishments but I will urge you to listen to this talk she gave at Oxford University. I believe we all have our single stories and we may give some more thought to it and just maybe…  Enjoy!

 

7 comments on “Chimamanda Adichie. The Danger of a Single Story

  1. Marjie
    December 11, 2010

    I can’t say how much this special friend – Chimamanda Ngozie (never met) inspires me.I have been listening to this talk of a ‘single story’ almost on a weekly basis.

    Anu, you just nailed it for me this week, Ow! (nodding my head); Chimamanda is truly an inspiration for our generation of young African women. I am a proud owner of 3 of her novels, just recently acquired ‘The thing around your neck’, anxiously waiting for the delivery!!

    • Atabs
      December 11, 2010

      Thanks. Very intelligent yet inspirational talk.

  2. prgoretti
    December 11, 2010

    @Marge, Now I see why we are friends…
    @Atabs, thank you. I find her inspirational too.

  3. Bernice Lakota
    December 11, 2010

    This is just Amazing, thank you so much for sharing, i learned so much from this talk….

  4. Kibs
    December 12, 2010

    this is totally amazing. Wow

  5. Gwen Fominyen
    December 31, 2010

    I cannot count how many times I have listened to this but it still leaves me gaping every single time.Amazing woman!

    • prgoretti
      January 1, 2011

      The beauty of this story is in its simplicity. I feel exactly the same way Gwen.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 11, 2010 by in Nollywood and tagged , , .
